Review: Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal

Title: Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No NormalMs. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal

Author: G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona
Genres: Comics, Graphic Novel, Young Adult

Goodreads

Marvel Comics presents the new Ms. Marvel, the groundbreaking heroine that has become an international sensation!

Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear? Kamala has no idea, either. But she’s comin’ for you, Jersey!

It’s history in the making from acclaimed writer G. Willow Wilson (Air, Cairo) and beloved artist Adrian Alphona (RUNAWAYS)! Collecting MS. MARVEL (2014) #1-5 and material from ALL-NEW MARVEL NOW! POINT ONE #1.

Review: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

★★★★/5 stars

I have to admit that I have never read a comic before, and I haven’t even seen any superhero movies. Okay, I might have seen one of the Batman movies once, but that’s about it. I just can’t see myself liking them, because there’s often not much of a story line, and a lot action that feels unnecessary. That being said, I actually rather liked Ms. Marvel.

I picked this one up because a lot of my friends raved about this one, and one of my favorite TV-show characters (Alex Dunphy from Modern Family) has a poster of the comic hanging on her wall. When I noticed this, I just knew I had to pick this one up.

Ms. Marvel follows Kamala Kahn, a Muslim teen with traditional parents living in Jersey City. She is bored with her life, longs for more freedom than her parents give her, and dreams to be as extraordinary as the Avenger she idolizes, Captain Marvel. After secretly attending a party, she develops superpowers, and soon figures out that this thing she thought would solve all her problems, only makes her life a lot more complicated.

What I liked:

  • Kamala was a very fun and relatable heroine.
  • There were a lot of fun side characters.
  • The artwork is gorgeous!
  • It definitely made me want to pick up more comics in the future.
  • Diversity!!

What I didn’t like:

  • Because I’m so used to reading normal books and getting lost in a story for hours, reading a comic in 20 minutes was very unsatisfying. I craved more. But I guess that’s the point of comics, right?
  • Even though I loved reading about a Muslim family, it felt very stereotypical.

Overall, I really enjoyed this one, and I hope I’ll be able to pick up the next one soon!

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and Loneliness

Twitter Instagram •  Goodreads

 

5 gedachtes over “Review: Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal

  1. LairOfBooks zegt:

    Oh I really LOVE Kamala! It’s def one that improves as it goes along, After having caught up to the latest trade I was left wanting more. Since I don’t read the single issues, my wait is always long but worth it. We also get some guest appearances from the Marvel Universe which is awesome. I agree with the stereotypes, I hope it does ease up on that a bit. Glad you enjoyed it 😊💕

    Like

Geef een reactie

