This Time Next Year | My Goals For 2017

pexels-photoA few days ago my lovely friend Alice tagged me in the ‘This Time Next Year’ tag, which, according to her,  is based off of a TV show where “people share the changes they’d like to make within the next three hundred and sixty-five days and then, through the magic of television, we get to fast forward and see how they did.” I had never heard of this before, but I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to share my 2017 resolutions with you, both bookish and not-so-bookish.

goals

Not care about the number of books I read
I’ve already talked about this in my ‘Why I Want To Read Less‘ post, but I want to stop caring so much about the number of books I read. I don’t want to rush my reading just because I’m 2 books behind on my goal, or because I think that only having 4 books in my wrap-up will look bad. No, I just want to read, and I want to enjoy it.

Read more diverse books
I think this will be the easiest of all of my goals, but I want at least 60% of the books I read to be diverse. I’d love for it to be more, but I still have quite some non-diverse books on my physical TBR that I still have to read. I also want to be able to cross of a lot of the squares from the #DiversityBingo2017 challenge.

Be better at blogging
I started blogging a year ago (my anniversary is in 20 days!!) and I’m still not the best at blogging. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a lot better at it now then when I started, but there are still quite some changes I’d like to make. I want to stick to a loose schedule, where I post something at least every other day, and I want to start writing a review for a book the moment I finish it. Okay, within a week. I just want to stop procrastinating with writing reviews, because I currently still have to review books I’ve read a month ago. I need to change that.

goals2Run More
Much like Alice, I want to pick up running again. I used to go running every other day and I adored it, until I got an injury. I tried to pick it up again a couple of times, but truthfully, I’ve been way too lazy. I think running would be the perfect way for me to move more, spend more time outside, become more confident in my body and to be healthier in general.

Write more
Until 3 months ago, I wrote in my diary at least once a week. It was mostly therapy homework, but I also really enjoyed it. It gave me a chance to reflect and to get my thoughts in order. I stopped doing it because, again, I got too lazy. School started again, and I was writing so much for my homework that I stopped doing it for pleasure. But I really want to start again. Actually, I promise you guys that I will write in my diary today. So, there, I said it.
This ‘writing more’ thing isn’t just about my diary, though. I want to write more blog posts (especially reviews), I want to start writing poetry again, maybe even outline a novel, and I want to reply to my lovely pen pals sooner, because they currently have to wait about a month for my reply, and that just isn’t good.

Take more pictures
I recently looked through old family pictures, and I loved it. It really felt like I was transported back to that time in my  life, and I could remember exactly what I was feeling when that picture was taken. Sadly, I’ve hardly been taking pictures anymore. When I was looking through my pictures of 2016, I saw that I basically only had pictures from my holiday and that was it. I desperately want to change this, so I will have something to look back on later, so I decided to start a new Instagram account (a private one, sorry) where I post a picture every single day. It’ll be a bit like a picture diary. And I’m incredibly excited about it.

So, those are most of my goals for 2017! Of course I have a lot more, like passing my exams and kicking anxiety’s butt, but I didn’t want this post to be too long.

Let’s chat! Do you have any goals for 2017? Let me know!

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

 

5 gedachtes over “This Time Next Year | My Goals For 2017

  1. Molly's Book Nook zegt:

    Great goals! I love the picture one. I know you’re starting a private IG so it’s a bit different but for Christmas I got one of those Fuji cameras (basically polaroids) and I’m so excited to use it! All my photos are always on my phone & I never think to look at them again. So, I wanted this so I can actually HOLD my photos and see them every day 🙂 Good luck with all your goals!

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Like

Geef een reactie

