Review: Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Am I Normal Yet? (The Spinster Club, #1)

Title: Am I Normal Yet?
Author: Holly Bourne
Series: The Spinster Club #1
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Goodreads 

All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?’

Review: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

★★★★/5 stars

Am I Normal Yet? is about a girl called Evie, who suffers from OCD and an anxiety disorder. Now that she’s doing better and she’s almost off her meds, she’s determined to start living a ‘normal’ life. Make new friends, go to parties, and date some boys. And because she’s scared her new friends, Amber and Lottie, will ditch her once they find out about her OCD, she decides to keep it a secret. Along with the fact that her problems might be coming back.

Let me start off with the fact that this was one of the hardest books I’ve ever read. I have suffered from an anxiety disorder and panic attacks for years now, and tears were streaming down my face while reading it because of how much I needed this book when I was a tad younger. Just to know that I wasn’t as alone as I felt.

The portrayal of mental-health problems were spot-on in this book, even though it’s not #OwnVoices. You can really tell that Holly Bourne has done her research, and that she’s not scared to show her readers the ugly truth of what living with OCD is like. This did made the book very hard to read at times, but I think that’s a very positive thing, in this case.

Besides really enjoying the mental health aspect of the book (okay, maybe ‘enjoying’ isn’t the right word for this), I also really liked the characters. All of the side characters were so well developed, and felt so real. I loved the friendship that developed between Evie, Lottie and Amber, and reading passages about them, especially the one’s about the spinster club meetings, gave me such a sense of girl power. I never wanted to belong to a friend group so much in my life (besides maybe the Percy Jackson and Harry Potter friend groups 😉 ).

All in all, I really loved this book, and I can’t wait to pick up the next one in the series! Also, if anyone wants to start a spinster club with me, let me know ❤

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

8 gedachtes over “Review: Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

  1. whatthelog zegt:

    I felt the exact same – I was incredibly impressed by Bourne’s depiction of anxiety and OCD because it felt so real. I’ve got anxiety too, and I don’t think I’ve ever read a book that portrayed it as well as this one did.

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

