Review: The Paths We Choose by Maria Hollis

The Paths We Choose (Lillac Town, #2)Title: The Paths We Choose (Lillac Town #2)
Author: Maria Hollis
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary
Goodreads

Lily Ferrari enjoys having control over every detail of her life. Ever since she left her parents’ house to gain her freedom, she decided to fully own her autonomy. But an unexpected visit from her little brother may change the path she chooses to follow.
Add to that a casual fling with the bright architect Mayte González, and Lily’s summer is turning out more interesting than she expected. It certainly beats the routine of working extra shifts at Johnson’s Bookstore.
A few weeks before her college life begins, Lily needs to figure out if she’s wrong about the past or if she should continue to protect her heart at all costs.

Sometimes moving forward is only possible if you have the right people by your side.

Review: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

Just a few months ago I read the first book in the Lillac Town Series, The Melody of Me and You, and I loved it so much that I started following the author, Maria Hollis, on Twitter. When she tweeted about ARCs for The Paths We Choose I, of course, immediately jumped at the chance. And I might have screamed a little bit when my request was accepted.

I read The Paths We Choose in one sitting (with a few snack and toilet breaks), and it’s safe to say that I loved it.

The thing I probably loved most about TPWC was the amazing female friendships. We don’t get enough of those, and this one really made me aware of what I’ve missed in other books. I loved seeing the girls interact, have deep conversations, and even fight. Seeing such a real and amazing female friend group in a book made me so incredibly happy.

I also loved our main character, Lily. I love how she doesn’t label herself, and I loved seeing her affection for (my new book girlfriend) Mayte grow. Their relationship was so great, and I loved them together. Also, that airport scene? Iconic.

A thing that made this novella extra special to me, is that Lily gets in contact with her little brother, whom she hasn’t seen since she moved out of her family’s house. Having a little brother myself, this meant so much to me. The scene where he asked for her forgiveness made me tear up. Damn, even thinking about it makes me tear up again.

Another thing that’s worth mentioning is how sex-positive this book is. Lily and Mayte even have a conversation about what they do and don’t like in bed, and set boundaries. I’ve never seen this in a book before (at least, not in a ‘serious’ way), and I really appreciated it.

The Paths We Choose is definitely one of those books that I will pick up again on days where I feel shitty, because this book makes me so incredibly happy.

I will definitely read anything that Hollis writes in the future. I can’t wait to read the next novella in the Lillac Town series! (Seriously Maria, please hurry up, I need it.)

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

 

4 gedachtes over “Review: The Paths We Choose by Maria Hollis

Geef een reactie

