Giant Book Unhaul

Last week, my parents had friends over for an entire evening, which meant that I was confined to my room. I didn’t really mind this because that’d give me the opportunity to read for a couple of hours, but once I sat down and picked up my book, I couldn’t concentrate. I kept getting distracted by my shelves, and I decided to reorganize them, because it had been quite a while since I’d done that.

Fast forward to me, sitting on the ground surrounded by piles of books, and feeling completely overwhelmed. I had no idea in what order to put them back on my shelves, and every time I put a book on a shelf, it just seemed wrong. That’s when I started to notice that I owned quite a lot of books that I didn’t need anymore. Books that I’d lost interest in, or books that I read once and just didn’t find that good. So I decided to get rid of some of them. And the ‘some of them’ turned into a big stack of books.

Here’s a little overview of all of them:

DSC07712.JPG

There are quite a lot of books here so I can’t very well talk to you about every single one of them, so I picked a view to talk about in detail, and about why I decided to get rid of these.

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

This is one of the first books I ever bought when I started getting into reading more, but I never actually read it. I tried a couple of times, but I never got past the first few pages. I’ve wanted to unhaul it multiple times, but then I’d read a very positive review of it which made me want to try again. However, I should just face te fact that if I haven’t read a book after 4 years of owning it, I never will.

schwab.jpgA Darker Shade of Magic and Vicious by V.E. Schwab

I know a lot of people love these books and love V.E. Schwab, but I’m not a fan. Don’t get me wrong, I did like these books, but they were just 3 star reads for me. I don’t think I’ll ever continue with the series (I don’t even remember what both of these books were about), but if I ever want to, I can just get the ebooks.

 

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi and The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I’m combining these two series because the reason I’m getting rid of these is exactly the same. I read both of these years ago and enjoyed them, but I’m 100% sure that if I read them today, I wouldn’t like them at all. Also, I’m just now realizing that Warner was quite an ass, despite me thinking he was super great and romantic when I first read it.

These books by Kiera Casscass.jpg

I liked the first 3 books in the selection series, but the series went downhill after the 3rd book. I didn’t enjoy The Heir and The Crown, so why hold on to them? I also found that the novella’s didn’t add a lot to the overall story and were quite unnecessary, and I didn’t like The Siren at all. I was just holding on to these ones because they had pretty spines, and I need to stop doing that. I’d much rather buy new books with the money I’ll get from selling these, then have these one’s as decoration on my shelf.

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

This is going to be a bit controversial, but I’m getting rid of this book purely because I don’t like Jay Kristoff. At all. The way he behaves on social media and the things he said has made me never want to pick up one of his books ever again. Illuminae might be a good book, but I’m unable to separate an author from they’re work. Also, his other book Nevernight is quite racist. Check out this review.

Lyons.jpg

The Collectors Society by Heather Lyons

I enjoyed this series when I first got into it, but the longer I’ve been thinking about this series, the less I actually enjoy it. This series also got a lot darker towards the end, which caused me to have panic attacks while reading it, so I’m never going to finish this series. Also, the height of these books is very different than other books I own, so seeing this on my shelf, sticking out because they were 1 cm taller than all of my other books, just annoyed me. So, they’re off to a new home!

And last but not least, Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan

You might be surprised to see this in my unhaul if you know about my love for the Percy Jackson series, but I’ve got a very reasonable explanation for getting rid of this one: I own another copy of it. I own the beautiful illustrated edition, and I’d much rather hang onto that one than onto this one. I didn’t mind owning 2 copies of it, but at this point it only served as decoration for my Rick Riordan shelf, and that shelf was getting incredibly full already. Also, I’d much rather give this book to someone who’d actually read it.

So, those are the books I’ve decided to unhaul! If you have any questions about why I decided to unhaul some of the books I haven’t mentioned just leave a comment down below.

Now tell me, do you ever unhaul books? And if you do, what is the last book you’ve unhauled?

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

 

 

 

12 gedachtes over “Giant Book Unhaul

  1. Mariam's Yummy Books zegt:

    I recently unhauled around twenty books. Included with them all of my Rainbow Rowell books because of the same reason you did Jay Kristoff’s book, I suppose. I just simply dislike how she totally ignored how damaging the representation in Eleanor & Park and I didn’t want to ever see her books on my shelves (they used to be my favorites too!) I also gave away 13 Reasons Why because I simply can’t stomach that book or even the thought of it. I gave away a lot of books that I read but were simply 3 stars or even less. I didn’t see myself reading them again.

    Are you giving them away to charity or re-selling them? Because (eye emoji) I’ve got my eye on Vicious (I loved the Shades of Magic –Currently reading ACOL– and I want to have Vicious…) and Saint Anything.

    (Was Saint Anything not good for you?)

    Like

    • Green Tea & Paperbacks zegt:

      I’ve gotten rid of all of my Rainbow Rowell books too. I do still own E&P, but simply because I marked some quotes in it and wrote in the margins when I first read it and I find it too personal to just give to a charity shop or sell, so I have it in storage somewhere. I’m so happy I never read 13 Reasons Why!

      I’m re-selling them (: I’ve already sold Vicious, but Saint Anything is still available! I’m afraid it’d be super expensive to ship it to you but you can always DM me about it!

      I found Saint Anything good, but it was a 3 star read for me. My contemporary shelf was getting way too full, so I had to get rid of some (a lot) of contemporaries.

      Geliked door 1 persoon

  2. littlebookynook zegt:

    I’m sorry you’re not a fan of Jay Kristoff, I understand your reasoning though. I do that with movies – if an actor/actress seems like an ass IRL I wont watch anything with them in it…same with music. I am going to unhaul the twilight series and Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard because I’m really just not a fan 😕

    Like

  3. sydneysshelves zegt:

    I do unhaul books. I recently went through and any book I’d owned for more than two years and had remained unread had to be reevaluated. Right now it looks like I’m giving away about 7 of the books. Which is good for me. Though my unread library is huge. But I enjoy collecting books. It’s a problem.

    Like

  4. Ravenclaw Book Club zegt:

    I cried out internally when I saw the Percy Jackson book, but then I read your reason! 😅
    I personally really liked The Shock of the Fall, so it’s a shame you decided to get rid of it. But to each their own I guess!

    Like

  5. cw @ readthinkponder zegt:

    I recently did an unhaul too, and I know how relieving it is! I just looked at my bookshelf and just thought oh god I’m never going to read these books and I don’t care about them, so I gave them away for free to my friends. 🙂 The rest I donated! It felt so so good.

    Like

  6. Huntress of Diverse Books zegt:

    I recently unhauled over fifty books, maybe even a hundred. I just didn’t need them anymore. I hadn’t read more than half and I didn’t like the others enough to keep them. I managed to distribute most of them but not all. Will be leaving those in the book telephone boxes around town.

    Like

  7. Lucille zegt:

    Saaaaame for Jay Kristoff. I’m keeping Illuminae but not picking up Gémina because of him.
    I wish I could unhaul books but whenever I try to go sell them in used bookshops they don’t want to take my English books (since I live in France) 😩

    Like

  8. Goreti zegt:

    I gotta say I’m a bit surprised to see The Shock of the Fall and Where Things Come Back there, as I loved both of them. I also have the first three books of The Maze Runner series and Landline but haven’t read them yet.

    Like

Plaats een reactie