March Wrap-Up

IMG_20170322_130106

1c347-knipsel

So, here we are again. Another month has passed, and I’m late with my wrap-up again. Will I ever be on time? I doubt it.

Anyway, not a lot of exciting stuff has happened in February, but the thing that kind of ‘controlled’ my month the most is the fact that my mom got a shoulder injury which meant that she was unable to work the whole month. I’m used to being alone at least 3 days a week, which is great because I love the quiet, but having someone home 24/7 was very, eh, challenging.

This month I also found out that I had to hand in my paper on all of the books/poems/short stories I read for school before April 1st, which meant that I kind of freaked out. I have my literature exam in June or July so I thought I had a few more months to finish everything, but no. So I spend my month reading 5 short stories and one more play, and wrote my paper for them. Which took a lot of time, and meant that I spend less time reading.

b53c6-diverse

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde (★★★★/5 stars) – The play I had to read for school this month which I, surprisingly, quite liked.
The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan (★★★/5 stars) – Picked this one up because I needed something to cheer me up. It didn’t do the job.
Lamb to the Slaughter by Roald Dahl (★★★★/5 stars) – One of the five short stories I read this month, and coincidentally the only one I could find on Goodreads.
Nejma by Nayyirah Waheed (★★★★/5 stars) – Nejma was good and very thought-provoking, but I liked salt. a lot more.
Learning to Fall by Mina V. Esguerra (★★★/5 stars) – Read this because the synopsis said that the MC was a book blogger. Turns out, she’s on hiatus during the time the story takes place.

The Paths We Choose by M. Hollis (★★★★★/5 stars) – LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE. For some more coherent thoughts, check out my review here.
Jonesy by Sam Humphries and Caitlin Rose Boyle (★★/5 stars)- I… didn’t like this, which was very disappointing since the synopsis sounded so so great.
Noteworthy by Riley Redgate (★★★★★/5 stars) – This was one of those books where the words ‘the end’ brought tears to my eyes, because I just didn’t want it to be over.
Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon DNF – I’d only heard great things about this one so I went into it expecting to love it, and I’m still not quite sure what went wrong.

e391c-knipsel

I am only reading 2 books at the moment, which is quite weird for me since I usually read at least 3 books at the same time. And I’m not even really reading Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay. I started this one on March 1st and I’m still only 5% in. I think Roxane Gay is a phenomenal and very inspiring person, which is why I wanted to read this collection of essays by her. Problem is, I don’t really like non-fiction. I don’t even really like essays/short stories. This might be a DNF for me, or it might be that kind of book that I pick up every few months to read an essay from and then put back on my shelf, who knows?
The next book ties in very well with the ‘not liking short stories’-part and that’s Promdi Heart, a collection of short stories by various Filipino authors. I… I am not sure how I feel about this one yet. You’ll see my review for it in a week or 2.

So, that’s everything from me in March. I’m curious, what is the best thing you’ve read last month? Let me know!

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

10 gedachtes over “March Wrap-Up

  1. Fadwa @ Word Wonders zegt:

    I’M SO HAPPY YOU LOVED NOTEWORTHY 😭😭 that book is everything, I loved it to pieces and I’m not over it !!
    I really don’t know how you read at least 3 books at the same time haha, I only read 1 at a time, or 2 if one of them is a buddy read. I really can’t 😂

    Liked by 1 persoon

    • Green Tea & Paperbacks zegt:

      I know we’ve already talked about this but NOTEWORTHY IS SO SO GOOD OMG
      I basically always read a contemporary, a fantasy and a poetry/nonfiction/comic book at the same time.It’s very easy to keep them apart, and I’m very much a mood reader so I can just pick whatever book I’m in the mood for atm (:

      Liked by 1 persoon

      • Fadwa @ Word Wonders zegt:

        IT REALLY IS !! Ooh really? That’s so interesting and yeah I can see how it would be easy to keep them apart, that’s actually not the problem I have, I can read 2+ books at the same time but I just like to have one set of characters to invest all my feels in if that makes sense haha.
        But it’s a good idea for mood readers (which I’m not much of tbh hahaha)

        Like

Geef een reactie

