Review: The Red Pyramid

The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles, #1)Title: The Red Pyramid
Series: Kane Chronicles #1
Author: Rick Riordan
Genres: YA, Fantasy

Goodreads

Since their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie have become near strangers. While Sadie has lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, the brilliant Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane.

One night, Dr. Kane brings the siblings together for a “research experiment” at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him to oblivion and forces the children to flee for their lives.

Soon, Sadie and Carter discover that the gods of Egypt are waking, and the worst of them —Set— has his sights on the Kanes. To stop him, the siblings embark on a dangerous journey across the globe – a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and their links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Review: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

If you know me even a little, you probably know that Riordan is one of my favorite authors. His books are always quick 2, maybe 3, day reads for me, and never fail to cheer me up, which is exactly the reason why I picked up The Red Pyramid at the beginning of March. Sadly, it took me 20 days to finish, and it didn’t cheer me up. At all.

Don’t get me wrong, I still liked it, but it felt so different from Riordan’s other works. It was a lot more serious and had a lot less jokes, which would be fine it that wasn’t the exact reason why I picked it up. I also had a very hard time keeping track of all of the Egyptian Gods, and I’m not sure if that’s because there are so many of them, or just because I’m not familiar with them. Nevertheless, it made the story quite confusing. It was fun getting to know these Gods, though.

This book followed Riordan’s usual formula of kids with a connection to certain ‘ancient’ Gods + an villain they need to fight, and while usually this forms a very fun, page-turning novel, it didn’t this time. I just wasn’t interested in anything that was happening, and I didn’t even feel like picking it up, which is very unusual. I can’t even put my finger on as to why this was, but there was something off about it. And naturally, that was very disappointing.

Of course there are some great things about this book as well, and the thing I loved most is probably the brother-sister relationship between Carter and Zadie. When the book starts off they don’t have the best relationship in the world, and kind of resent each other because they both think the other one has a better life, but throughout the story they learn a lot more about each other, and really form a connection. They also had that kind of brother-sister banter that I love to see in books.

This book is, like most of Riordan’s books, written in multiple POVs, which he does very well. Riordan creates such distinct characters that it’s almost impossible to mix them up, and that’s something I appreciate very much.

So, while this definitely wasn’t some of Riordan’s best work and I didn’t even feel like picking it up most of the time, I still enjoyed a few elements of it which made it worthwhile. I just hope this series will pick up a bit, because I’m not sure if I’ll be able to finish it otherwise.

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

3 gedachtes over “Review: The Red Pyramid

Geef een reactie

