The ‘I Messed Up’ Book Tag

Hi everyone! I wanted to do a fun bookish thing today and I remembered that Chelsea from romweasley tagged me to do this tag ages ago, so I decided to finally do it! Let’s just dive straight into it.

1. A Character Appearance That You Misread And Imagined Differently.

I honestly do this all the time. For some reason my brain forms it’s own image regarding a character’s looks based on their behaviour, and just completely glances over the whole description. For example, when I read ToG (I still regret doing that, tbh) I was convinced that Chaol was a cranky 50-year-old man.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor oops gif

2. A Character Name That You’ve Been Pronouncing Wrong.

A lot of them! This is, I think, mostly because of the fact that English isn’t my first language. I could *try* to pronounce certain words, but you just never know with the English language.
Something I often do is call the character by the first letter of their name. Like (and I regret using this example again) I always used to just call the MC of ToG C. It just makes it a lot easier.

3. An Overused Trope That Is Your Guilty Pleasure.

A nerdy character who loves to read. I don’t care if it’s the main character, side character or love interest, I’m total trash for it.

4. A Cliché Character Type That You Like Better On Screen Than Reading About.

The bad boy character. When I’m reading I always think ‘God, this person is such a dick. I don’t get why people like them.’, but when I’m watching a movie I can kind of see the appeal? I still don’t like it, but I like it more than in a book.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor you're a dick gif5. A Word/Phrase That You Learnt Because Of Its Use In A Book.

I’ve learned a lot of English words and phrases because of books, since English is not my first language. I think I learn a new word with every book I read.

6. Have You Ever Not Read Or Completed A Required Reading Book For School?

Eh, yes. We don’t really have required reading here, we just get a long list of books (mostly classics) and we have to pick about 6 books to read off of that list. One of the books that I picked was Jane Eyre, and I really didn’t enjoy it.
I liked it at first, but halfway through the book I just couldn’t stand it anymore. There were a lot of things I didn’t like, but the thing that bothered me most at that point was Mr. Rochester. I HATED him. At this point I had already read about 300 pages and I didn’t want that to go to waste, so I just watched the crashcourse videos on this book and put it on my list anyway.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor jane eyre gifToo many to name, Mr. Rochester. Too many.

7. Have you ever (or wanted to) skipped a chapter from the point of view of a character that you weren’t interested in?

I never entirely skipped chapters, but I did skim some. I skimmed the chapters from Four’s POV in Allegiant because I just didn’t care (if I had said this 3 years ago I would’ve gotten so much hate haha), and I skimmed Mather’s chapters in Ice Like Fire because I also didn’t care. The stuff Meira was doing was just a lot more interesting, and I wanted to get back to her story ASAP.

8. Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

This might surprise you, but I haven’t. Granted, I don’t have a lot of social plans already, but it feels to rude to me to just cancel on someone to read. Something I could do the next day anyway. And yes, I am a total Hufflepuff, in case you were wondering.

That’s it! Before I sign off, I want to formally promise you that this will be the only time you’ll ever hear about ToG on my blog. You’re welcome.

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

6 gedachtes over “The ‘I Messed Up’ Book Tag

  1. Zoey zegt:

    I can already hear Chaol fans thinking: WHAT!
    It’s weird that despite not have read these books. I feel like I know them inside out just from the fans ‘^^
    Great tag! I had fun reading your answers 😀

    Like

  2. cheesylifesite zegt:

    I saw you mention ToG. And I felt one of those moments when you just want to go to Pinterest and see what pictures they have about it. 🙂
    Thanks to your first point on how you can get characters wrong, I went to Pinterest and realised that Dorian isn’t blonde.
    Someone will probably find me on the floor tomorrow, looking at the ceiling, arms flopped over, asking myself what the meaning of life is.

    Like

  3. littlebookynook zegt:

    That Chaol one had me laughing so hard! I’ve never had a fully clear picture on him, I guess I think of him as looking like Four from the Divergent movies…mostly because Theo James is hot. I love your answers, they all had me laughing 🙂

    Like

  4. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd zegt:

    Ah what a fun tag! I totally agree with the bad boy character – in books it’s just MEH most of the time but the portrayal in movies is great because the characters seem so much more mysterious 😛
    I also feel the same when it comes to learning new words or phrases since English isn’t my native language either!
    And mispronouncing names! Oh jeez, I used to pronounce Rhysand from ACOTAR so weirdly 😂 but I’ve learned how to say it correctly now!
    Great post and lovely answers!

    Like

Geef een reactie

