April Wrap-Up

IMG_20170419_144948

1c347-knipsel

April was an incredibly hectic month for me. There were a lot of family visits because of Easter and my brother’s birthday (I can’t believe he’s 17 already!), and especially a lot of studying.

I know I told y’all last month that my exams were getting close, but they’re actually really close now. I have another 1.5 weeks before they start and I’m a little ball of anxiety. I keep being incredibly scared that I will have a panic attack during the exams and I’ll completely screw it up, but hey, I don’t want to discuss all of my anxious thoughts here so let’s move on.

One exciting thing that happened to me this month is that I received physical ARCs for the very first time! I never thought that that’d be possible, with me being an international blogger and all, but apparently it is?? I know ARCs aren’t the most important thing, but it still made me so incredibly happy!!

Besides all of my studying, reading and anxiety-related-stuff I haven’t been able to do much, so let’s just move on to the books I’ve read before this gets too boring.

b53c6-diverse

The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember (★★★★★/5 stars)- An f/f retelling of The Little Mermaid + Norse mythology & Loki? Yes, it was just as incredible as it sounds.
Fearless by Shira Glassman (★★★★★/5 stars)- Adorable f/f romance that made me very happy.
Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook (★★★★/5 stars) – Amazing poetry collection that made me feel a lot of stuff.
The Backstagers #7 & #8 (★★★★★/5 stars) – This graphic novel series is so much fun! So adorable, colorful and queer, and I can’t believe it’s over. I might have cried.
Promdi Heart by various authors (★★★/5 stars) – Cute and I liked the exploration of The Phillipines, but meh. Full review here.

Long Macchiatos and Monsters by Alison Evans (★★★/5 stars) – Very cute, very diverse, and a very quick read.
Ms Marvel vol. 5 (★★★★★/5 stars) – YES. Might be my favorite volume yet, and that might be because of Mike because she’s MAGNIFICENT.
Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller DNF – Great premise, but fell flat for me. But please don’t let that discourage you from picking it up yourself!!
I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo (★★★ / 3.5? /5 stars) – Cute, but I had some problems with it. Review to come soon.
The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich (Not sure yet.) – Amazing premise, but a lot of mixed feelings. Review to come soon.

e391c-knipsel

The two books I’m currently reading are Chameleon Moon by RoAnna Sylver and Joyride Vol. 1 by Jackson Lanzing. I’m making my way through Chameleon Moon very slowly, but I’m loving it very very much. I just have quite a hard time with reading full novels on my e-reader, and I’m not sure way.
Joyride Vol. 1 is a graphic novel I got through Netgalley, which I can’t say much about because I’m only a few pages in. It has already used the words ‘crazy’ and ‘insane’ a few times though, and y’all know how I feel about that.
Also!!!! I’m currently reading The Taste of Lipgloss by Mariam which you can find here. Mariam is a fellow blogger, an amazing person, and her writing is great and I’m having so much fun reading it! I’d definitely recommend y’all to give it a read.

So, that’s it for April! I’m just going to repeat the same question I asked in my March wrap-up because I loved seeing your answers: what’s the best thing you read this month?

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

13 gedachtes over “April Wrap-Up

  1. Lucille zegt:

    Good luck for your exams!! 💛
    And what a great reading month 😮😃 (aww no sorry to see you didn’t liked Mask of shadows, I was really excited about it, I’ll lower my expectations then!)

    Liked by 1 persoon

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews zegt:

    Good luck with your exams, Laura ♥ Sending you all the good vibes!!

    So glad that you enjoyed Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately, The Backstagers and Ms. Marvel 😀 Have you ever read Lumberjanes? You might enjoy that if you liked The Backstagers!!

    Looking forward to seeing what you though of The Love Interest.

    Like

Geef een reactie

