Books I Should Talk About More Often: 5 Categories and Recommendations

Hi everyone! Hope you’re all doing well! Today I wanted to have a chat with you about books that I don’t talk about enough.

I think almost every book can be divided within 5 categories:

Category 1: Books that you hate and can’t shut up about because you want everyone to know how much you hate it.
Category 2: Books that you hated and just forgot about overtime, so you never talk about it anymore.
Category 3: This book was meh and you might or might not talk about it. Doesn’t matter. This book wasn’t that important anyway.
Category 4: You loved this book and you can’t stop talking about it because you want everyone in the whole world to pick this book up and fall in love with it too!!!
Category 5: You loved this book, but you kind of forgot about it (overshadowed by another book? Never got around to reviewing it? Who knows!), you haven’t mentioned it and you haven’t been able to share your love for this book with the world yet.

I really want to share some books that fall under category 5 with you, because these are really really good books and I really should talk about them more! I will also give you a few reasons why you should pick them up (and please do!!!).

The Forbidden Wish (The Forbidden Wish, #1)

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

I read this book in at the end of last year, and I read so much at that time, and I had to write so many reviews, that I kind of forgot about this one. Which is really a shame, because it’s such a good one!!

Some buzzwords:
– Alladin retelling
– An illegal, female jinni
– Incredible romance
– Lush writing

George by Alex Gino 

GeorgeI read George during the #DiverseAThon last year, and I loved it so much! I read it in a day, which says a lot about how much I loved it, and why I probably forgot about it…

Some buzzwords:
– #OwnVoices
– Trans MC
– Middle grade
– A super cute and fast read

 

Iron Cast

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

This is, once again, a book that I read at the end of 2016 and got lost in a pile of other books. I really thought I reviewed this one, but apparently I haven’t???

Some buzzwords:
– One of my favorite books of 2016
– Historical setting
– Very atmospheric
– Magical
– So so good???

we carry the sky by McKayla Robbinwe carry the sky

Ah, finally a book (or in this case, a poetry collection) that I did review! I fell in love with this poetry collection, read it twice, bought copies for some friends, but somehow never mentioned it again? Why am I like this??

– Feminist
– Powerful
– Will prob make you cry
– If you like The Princess Saves Herself in This One, you will most likely like this!!

The One Hundred Nights of Hero

The One Hundred Nights of Hero by Isabel Greenberg

This, again, is a book that I read at the end of last year and just completely forgot about. I have no idea how or why, because it has a very prominent place on my shelf and I often pick it up to reread small parts of it…

– Graphic novel with amazing art
– Very feminist
– f/f relationship
– Feels magical

So ,tell me, what are some books that you loved but never talk about? 

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

4 gedachtes over “Books I Should Talk About More Often: 5 Categories and Recommendations

  1. Holly zegt:

    I love how you split books into different categories– they’re all so true! A book I should really talk more about is Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. I read it during my senior year of high school and was absolutely enthralled by it, but it never seems to come up in my bookish discussions very often.

    Like

  2. whatthelog zegt:

    Ooh I want to read A Hundred Nights of Hero!! And this is such a good blog post idea – I’m definitely going to be wracking my brains trying to think of great books that I’ve forgotten about!

    Like

Geef een reactie

