A Bloggers Guide To Requesting Physical ARCs as an International Reader

2.jpg

I’m finally sitting down to write about a topic I promised to talk about a few months go: how do you get physical ARCs when you don’t live in the US/UK?

I’ve always been told that it was absolutely impossible to get ARCs as an international reader. Publishers would never ever send me ARCs because the shipping is just too much, and it wouldn’t be worth it. The only ways to get physical ARCs for me would be to win them in a giveaway or maybe trade them, but that’s it. Then, a few months ago, I sent out a few requests, thinking nothing would ever come of it, and a few weeks later I had my 2 first ever physical ARCs! So, it’s obviously possible, but you just need to know how. And I’m here to help you.download

So, how do you get physical ARCs as an international blogger?

Step 1: Have an established blog

You’ve probably visited a number of these ‘guide to physical ARCs’ posts and you’ve probably heard this before, but make sure that you’ve been blogging for at least 6 months! Publishers want to know that you take blogging seriously, and that you’re not just trying to get free books out of it.

Having good stats (aka quite a lot of visitors/followers) also helps. Publishers are always more willing to send out books to people with higher stats, because the more people that see the post you wrote about the book they send you, the more books they sell. I personally got my first ARCs when I had 2.500 followers (combined over WordPress, Instagram and Twitter), but you might still be able to get ARCs even when you have a lot less followers. I simply don’t know.

Step 2: Find the books that you want to request

This is probably the easiest step, because when you’re a part of the book community you’re constantly bombarded with books that have not yet been released yet. You can also try publisher’s catalogues, which you can often find on Edelweiss, or just Google ‘name of publisher’ + catalogue. It always helps me to add the books I want to read to Goodreads, and to add them to a ‘to be released’, ‘2017 releases’ or ‘to request’ list, just so I have a clear overview. For example, here’s my 2017 releases list.

Step 3: Find out if there are ARCs available

It’s very helpful if you find out if there are any ARCs available for the title you want to request, so you won’t send publishers an unnecessary email, which saves both you and them time. I’ve found that the easiest way to look if there are any ARCs out in the wild yet, is to search the hashtag of a certain book on Instagram (just the title, minus the spaces, with a hashtag in front of it) because chances are that if there are ARCs, someone has posted a picture of it already.

If you can’t find anything, just wait until 3-4 months before the release date. Usually there’ll be some ARCs by then.

Step 4: Find the publisher

Again, an easy step. You’ll already know the publisher if you’ve found the book you want to request in their catalog, but if you don’t, just search the title of the book on Goodreads and you’ll be able to find the publisher that way. It’s usually right under the synopsis.

Step 5: Find the right contact

This is usually the trickiest part when it comes to requesting ARCs as an international blogger. A lot of USA based publishers just aren’t going to send any ARCs to international bloggers. However, quite a few publishers have a special international publicity contact that you, as an international blogger, can send an email to, and where you’re a lot more likely to be accepted.

Here are a few of them:

HarperCollins: harpercollinsintl@HARPERCOLLINS.com
Macmillan: sales.international@macmillan.com

You can often find these by just googling ‘name publisher’+ ‘international publicity/sales contact’. If you really can’t find anything, you could also go to a publishers social media site, see if they accept questions, and just ask them.

Step 5: Write the request email

This is for a lot of people quite a hard step, but I promise you that it’s really not as scary as it seems.

There are a few things you have to state in your e-mail: your blog, your stats, the book you’re requesting, and your mailing address. My requests often look like this:

To whomever it may concern,

My name is Laura and I’m a book blogger at a blog called Green Tea & Paperbacks (bbliophile.wordpress.com) where I review young adult and middle grade books. I would like to request an Advance Readers Copy of:

  • [Title, author] which is set to be published on [date]

Maybe add a reason why you want to request it here.

As of [date] I have:

  • Number of blog followers
  • Number of weekly views + comments on my blog (you could also do daily/monthly views, I’m honestly not sure why I went with weekly)
  • Number of Twitter followers
  • Number of Instagram followers

Here are some of my latest reviews:

  • Have links to about 2 or 3 of your ‘best’ reviews here

If you consider me for this opportunity, my mailing address is:

  • Mailing address

Thank you for your consideration,

[Name + blog link]

When writing this email try to be as formal as possible, but don’t stress out about it too much. A publisher isn’t going to deny your request just because you made a grammar mistake or something like that.

There are a lot of request e-mail templates online, so if you want to draw some inspiration from those, Google is your best friend!

Step 6: Send the email

Sending out an email to a publisher can be quite a scary thing, but it’ll be okay. You can do this. The worst that could happen is that they might say no, or not reply to you at all. And there’s nothing awful about that. Just try it and who knows, maybe you’ll be able to read one of you most anticipated releases soon!

Additional tips:

  • Try a nearby publisher! Because I live in The Netherlands, which is quite close to the UK, I often also try my luck with UK publishers. And because shipping from the UK to The Netherlands isn’t a ridiculous amount of money, they sometimes accept my requests. So this is definitely worth a try.
  • Maybe try your luck with some less popular books, and don’t start your book-requesting journey by requesting books from super well known authors. Because almost everyone wants these books, and publishers will get a lot of requests for them, they will usually only send out these requests to the absolute most popular bloggers.
  • If publishers don’t reply to your email right away, or at all, don’t send them a lot of follow-up emails. Sometimes they don’t reply to your e-mail, but send you the ARC anyway. Publishers are super busy, so please respect that.
    But if you haven’t seen or heard anything from them, a follow up e-mail would be totally fine. But one is enough. Don’t bombard them with e-mails, because that’s just not productive.
  • Sometimes, when there aren’t any ARCs available or publishers simply can’t afford to send you any, they will send you an e-copy of it through Netgalley, which is great as well!

download

So, I think that’s everything I have to say on this topic! I really hope this post helped some of you, and if you have any more questions, please don’t hesitate to ask them and I’ll try my best to answer every single one of them.

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter β€’ Instagram β€’  Goodreads

30 gedachtes over “A Bloggers Guide To Requesting Physical ARCs as an International Reader

  1. Swetlana zegt:

    Such a great post! Thank you for all of the tips in this. πŸ™‚ I will be bookmarking this and trying to figure out whether I want to go the UK vs the US route as it’s closer to me too, with me being from Germany. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 persoon

      • Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews zegt:

        Yesss, definitely. I know a lot of international bloggers who said they’ve just never bothered trying so I’m sure this will really help inspire some to give it a go! I recently made an ARCs post myself and was wondering if I could go add a link of this post to it? Quite a lot of people who were international commented on it, so I’d love to have some information for them.

        Liked by 1 persoon

  2. jejesunflower zegt:

    This is so helpful! I’ve tried a few times to request e-ARCs on NetGalley and I was lucky to get some of the books I wanted to read but I’m always envious of bloggers and booktubers that receive physical ARCs, so thank you for your help!^^

    Liked by 1 persoon

  3. Evelina @ AvalinahsBooks zegt:

    This is lovely, thank you for sharing πŸ™‚ I know I could, maybe, get one. But I keep telling myself “tomorrow”, “your blog is too small”, “wait till you get more followers”… and so on. I guess now it’s just a matter of bravery πŸ™‚
    Also! Harper is awesome! They’re the only ones who approve me on Edelweiss for nearly everything. They’re awesome.

    Like

  4. Kathy @ Books & Munches zegt:

    I’ve been looking for information but never, ever found anything about ARC’s when you don’t live in the US/UK. And then Twitter just blasted me the link to this – I really think it appeared like three times on short notice.
    So a huuuuge thank you! [I already thought I’d be better off contacten UK publishers – Belgium and all; but knowing it’s definitely an option for the future is.. yay! Haha.]

    Like

Geef een reactie

