First Books in Series| I Show You My TBR pt. 2

header.jpgDid I really start a new blog series and say that I was going to post every single weekend, and then proceed to not post anything the next weekend? Ehm, yes. But I have great excuse! I had my very last final of the year on the 21st and I have now officially graduated both my English and my history class! I was so incredibly tired and burned out after that because I, of course, had a giant panic attack on the day of my exam, so I gave myself a little break from blogging. But I’m back and I’m here to show you another part of my TBR: first books in series.

Also, I decided to split this one up into 2 parts because my post was already at 650 words when I hadn’t even talked about 1/4 of the books I wanted to feature and I didn’t want this post to be too long, so expect the rest of the first books in series next week!DSC08239.JPGLet’s start with the books that have been on my TBR the longest. I have The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland by Catherynne M. Valente, which I started a couple months ago, got a few chapters in, but wasn’t in the mood for it so I put it down. I still want to try and get through this one again, but every time I look at it I remember not liking it, which doesn’t make me feel very enthusiastic about picking the book up. Then I have These Broken Stars by Amy Kaufman and Meagan Spooner, and to be totally honest, the only reason why I haven’t unhauled it yet is because of the gorgeous cover. There’s just nothing about this book that’s appealing to me anymore, sadly. I might get rid of this soon…

I can already feel people glaring at me for not having read this book yet, but the next book is Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. This book is intimidatingly big and I planned on reading the Grisha trilogy before picking this one up, but I read Shadow and Bone a few months back and I didn’t like it very much. I’m also very scared that I’ll be one of the only one’s who doesn’t like this book, and that the bookish community will disown me because of it.

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken is one that has been on my TBR for a long, long time but also one that I’m still kinda excited about. I loved Bracken’s writing in The Darkest Minds series and, even though I haven’t heard the greatest things about this book, I still have a feeling that I’m going to enjoy it. Heartless by Marissa Meyer, however, I feel very meh about. You’d think that I’d be super excited for this one since I loved The Lunar Chronicles when I read them, I love Alice in Wonderland, and I love retellings, but I’ve heard so many bad things about this book that I don’t really want to pick it up. I might get the audiobook through the library and read it that way, but I really don’t feel like actually reading it. Which is something that makes me kinda sad because I was so excited about this book when I first heard about it. (Edit: after writing this post I realised that Heartless is, in fact, not the first book in a series. Go me.)DSC08255.JPGThis pile of books luckily only has books that I’m really excited about! The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet is a book that I’ve heard nothing but great things about, but for some reason I’m so incredibly intimidated by it. I don’t know why, but I really feel like this book is going to get me weeks to get through, and that’s why I haven’t picked it up yet.

The next three books are books that I got as birthday presents from my lovely friends! Thank you so much, again ❤ The Young Elites is going to be my very first Marie Lu books, and I’m beyond excited about it. I’ve heard so many amazing things about both of her series, and the fact that this one features a morally grey main character makes me so so excited to read it! I’m incredibly excited about Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older as well, because again, I’ve heard nothing but great things about it. The premise sounds incredibly interesting, and I’ve been following the author on Twitter for a while now and he’s AMAZING. So I’m expecting his book to be amazing too.

The Second Mango by Shira Glassman is the last book I’ll be talking about today, but the one I might be the most excited about. I’ve already read 2 of Shira Glassman’s novella’s and I loved them both an incredible amount, so I’m expecting to love this book too. It also seems quite easy to get through, so I’m definitely planning on picking this one up soon. And I can’t wait.

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter • Instagram •  Goodreads

 

 

8 gedachtes over “First Books in Series| I Show You My TBR pt. 2

  1. twobookthieves zegt:

    The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet is one of my all time favourites and its sequel too (although they follow different characters!) I didn’t enjoy Shadow and Bone either, to the point that I still haven’t read the second and third book BUT Six of Crows is one of my all time favourite duologies and Leigh really upped her game! Don’t feel like you won’t like SOC because you didn’t like the Grisha trilogy! Good luck with your TBR! I wish mine as as organised as yours!

    Like

  2. Holly zegt:

    I’ve heard amazing things about Leigh Bardugo’s books, but I’ve just never gotten around to reading any of them. These Broken Stars was okay, but nothing I would reread.

    Like

  3. Maha zegt:

    don’t worry, the only book i have read from this pile you mentioned is SIX OF CROWS (and god it was amazing, hope you get into it soon). but i really want to read THE YOUNG ELITES, it looks sooooooo amazing.
    i’ve had the sequel to THESE BROKEN STARS, which is THIS SHATTERED WORLD for about two years now and i haven’t even read the first book. i don’t even know why i only bought the second book in the trilogy. still want to read it though.

    Like

Geef een reactie

