Review: The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James

32601841.jpgTitle: The Loneliest Girl in the Universe
Author: Lauren James
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Thriller
Goodreads

Can you fall in love with someone you’ve never met, never even spoken to – someone who is light years away?

Romy Silvers is the only surviving crew-member of a spaceship travelling to a new planet, on a mission to establish a second home for humanity amongst the stars. Alone in space, she is the loneliest girl in the universe until she hears about a new ship which has launched from Earth – with a single passenger on board. A boy called J.

Their only communication with each other is via email – and due to the distance between them, their messages take months to transmit across space. And yet Romy finds herself falling in love.

But what does Romy really know about J? And what do the mysterious messages which have started arriving from Earth really mean?

Sometimes, there’s something worse than being alone . . .

download

Thank you to Walker YA for sending me an ARC copy of this book for review.

Well, this book was intense.

I started reading The Loneliest Girl in the Universe yesterday because I was in the mood for a cute and easy contemporary book with sci-fi elements, and that’s basically what I got during the first half of the book. Then, during the second half, I realized that I wasn’t reading a cute book but a thriller. Something that my anxiety wasn’t too happy about.

The book had already grabbed me during the first half of the book. I couldn’t stop reading because I simply enjoyed it so much, but during the second half the hold the book had on me became even stronger. I just had to know what was going to happen, and my body was filed with adrenaline. I just couldn’t stop reading, and I ended up reading the entire book in one sitting.

To be totally honest with you, I find it quite hard to review this book. It had amazing twists and turns and it definitely scared me shitless, which is what a thriller is supposed to do, but my anxious self didn’t enjoy that very much. But just because it wasn’t the best for my anxiety, doesn’t mean that it’s not a good book. Because it really was a very good book.

The thing I loved most about this book is probably the way it dealt with mental health. The main character, Romy, has anxiety, panic attacks and PTSD and, as someone who deals with the first 2 things as well, I found the rep to be very accurate. I loved seeing this in a book because usually, when a character goes through something traumatic, it’s kind of brushed off as it being no big deal. This felt a lot more realistic and I loved how, even though Romy deals with all this, she is still portrayed as a very strong, intelligent and brave character, which is definitely something that I want to see more of in books.

I adored Romy’s character in general. She’s incredible, super badass, and she’s still very relatable. I also adored how fan culture was interwoven within the story, because Romy is a huge fan of a TV show called Loch & Ness and she even writes fanfiction for it and you get to read snippets of this. It was great.

The plot of the book was incredibly interesting and, like I mentioned before, so different from what I expected. In the beginning of the book you learn that Romy hasn’t always been alone on this spaceship, but what happened remains a mystery. Then there’s this guy in another spaceship coming closer and closer to Romy’s ship and he seems super nice, but can you really trust him? Plus, there’s also something going wrong on earth. So yes, there’s a lot going on and a lot of questions you want answers to. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat, and you definitely won’t be bored while reading it.

I really enjoyed the writing style, and I found that it fit incredibly well with the plot. It gave the book a great atmosphere and it was very fast paced, but not to a point where it felt too hurried. The book also deals with a lot of technical stuff (I mean, it takes place in a space ship in space, it wouldn’t make sense if there wasn’t any technical stuff) and even though things like that tend to confuse me a bit, I felt like the author explained everything amazingly. I definitely want to pick up more books from this author, but I also kind of want her to be my chemistry tutor, haha.

All in all, this book was very different from what I expected, but I had a great time with it. There was great mental health rep, I adored the main character, and the plot and writing were fantastic. I would, however, make sure that people know that it’s a thriller when I’m recommending it to them, because the surprise isn’t great for people with anxiety.

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter • Instagram •  Goodreads

Een gedachte over “Review: The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James

Geef een reactie

