TTT: Books I’d Love To Get For Christmas

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

So, this week’s TTT topic is ‘Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree’. I feel incredibly weird about this, because in my family we never celebrate Christmas with presents. We go to church, have dinner on both Christmas days (fun fact: in The Netherlands we have 2 days of Christmas) and that’s about it. Of course this is fun too, and I love spending time with my family, but I do get a bit jealous when I see those big stacks of books people get for Christmas. I’m only human, after all.

However, I am doing a secret santa with 2 friends this year, so I will be getting a few books! Yay!

Anyway, let’s move to the books that I’d love to magically appear under our Christmas tree!

Even though I could probably have filled this one with a lot of 2017 releases, because I seriously can’t wait for a lot of them to come out and I wouldn’t mind getting a copy already, I decided against it. Last week’s TTT was all about that, and I don’t want to get repetitive, so this one is filled with books I’ve been wanting for a while.

The Song of Achilles is one that has been recommended to me loads of times, but I’ve never really been temped to pick it up. I took ancient-Greek in high school, and we had to translate the story of the Trojan war and it. was. hell. Did you know that Homer writes very bloody death scenes? Anyway, I finally put this one on my Christmas list this year and I’m hoping I’ll love it!

The reason why I want The Encyclopedia of Early Earth and Ms. Marvel vol. 2 is basically the same thing: I read the first one (or in the Ecyclopedia’s case, the 2nd one) in these series this month and I loved them, so I desperately want to pick up these ones!

As for the other ones, they’re books that I’ve seen talked about a lot on Twitter and AHH they sounded so good! ❤ I desperately want to read them in 2017.

So tell me, what are some books that are on your Christmas wishlist?

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and Loneliness

Twitter Instagram •  Goodreads

 

23 gedachtes over “TTT: Books I’d Love To Get For Christmas

  1. Lori zegt:

    I’m really excited about The Secret of a Heart Note too. I have an eARC and hope to start it soon. I want a finished copy too, because that cover is so pretty! I hope Santa brings you lots of books!

    My Top Ten

    Like

  2. Holly zegt:

    I really want to read Ms. Marvel because I feel like I should explore more graphic novels. I recently read and LOVED the Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, so hopefully I’ll like Ms. Marvel as well. Great list! 🙂

    Like

  3. KliScruggs zegt:

    I also go to church on Christmas, but just for this year because it’s on a Sunday (I got to church every Sunday). I have heard wonderful things about Not Your Sidekick and I cannot wait to read Secret of A Heartnote!! I hope you get some of these for Christmas!

    Like

  4. Louise zegt:

    Of Fire and Stars and Not Your Sidekick are both high up on my reading list too! I hope you enjoy Song of Achilles, I loved it — it was one of my top reads this year.

    Like

Plaats een reactie