Combined Poetry Review: The Secrets I Keep, a jarful of moonlight & Heaven or This

I’ve read a few incredibly gorgeous poetry collections over the past few weeks, and I really wanted to share my thoughts on them with you. I, however, didn’t have enough thoughts to fill an entire 4-paragraph review, so I decided to combine my reviews for the poetry collections. I hope you like them (:

TThe Secrets I Keephe Secrets I Keep by Alex Casso

Goodreads / Amazon

The Secrets I Keep is a poetry collection about mental illness, as well as child abuse and the lingering effects it has. Through it, Alex Casso bares their soul and proves that, despite everything, they are a force to be reckoned with.

Thank you to the author for sending a review copy of this poetry collection to me. 

The Secrets I Keep had me hooked from the very first page, and I couldn’t stop reading it until I finished, and then I started it again. And again. It is a poetry collection about abuse and survival, but also about strength and hopefulness. It is powerful, but also very delicate. Heart-wrenching, but, in some weird ways,  also joyful. It is incredible, and I will read every single thing Alex Casso writes in the future, because they’re incredibly talented.

a jarful of moonlight

a jarful of moonlight by Nazanin Mirsadeghi

Goodreads / Amazon

This is a series of short love poems.

Thank you to Bahar Books for sending a copy of this poetry collection my way!

I have a lot of conflicted feelings about this poetry collection. There were quite a few poems in here that touched me and made me feel joy, or power, or sadness, but there were also a few poems that, no matter how many times I read them, I just couldn’t understand. And there were a few stylistic choices that made some of the poems feel less fluid, flow-y and easy to read than they could’ve been. But these choices also left me incredibly curious. Curious as to why the author chose to do it this way, curious as to who the author is, and curious about Nazanin Mirsadeghi’s other work. So, above all, this poetry collection left me wanting more, and I adore that.

Heaven or ThisHeaven or This by Topaz Winters

Goodreads  / This one is free! Check the Goodreads description

Heaven or This: a collection of love letters in poem form. A story of a girl who loves girls, and the beauty in that, the terror, the yearning and the warning, the endless confusion and innate peace, at once shatteringly delicate and softly visceral.

Heaven or This: a fearless, electric manifesto. A pastel incarnation of grace. The story of a girl who loves girls so deeply that it feels like loving doves or knives.

Heaven or This is the first f/f poetry collection I’ve ever read, and it was the most wonderful experience. Topaz  Winters has this way with words which causes every single sentence to feel like magic and stardust, and every single poem took my breath away and filled me with so many emotions – mostly joy – that I had tears streaming down my face while reading it. But it gave me so much strength at the same time. This is definitely one of those poetry collections I will turn to when I feel a bit hopeless, because I know that the poems in Heaven or This will make me feel hopeful again.

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and LonelinessTwitter Instagram •  Goodreads

6 gedachtes over “Combined Poetry Review: The Secrets I Keep, a jarful of moonlight & Heaven or This

Geef een reactie

