All of the Queer Books I Want to Read for Pride (But Will Realistically Probably Not Get To)

Collage

Hi everyone! I’m currently in between finals so I have a little bit of time to read again and I’m enjoying it so, so much! It feels so incredibly good to finally have time to properly sit down and read whatever I want for however long I want to again, and I truly can’t wait to do more of that during the summer.

I’ve also been making quite a few reading plans for pride month and my TBR is absolutely massive, but because I still have two finals and a birthday (I’m turning 22! AAAAH) in June I’m not sure how much reading I’ll realistically be able to get done. But I like having a big TBR, I like having options, so let’s just go with it.

audiobook

Firestarter by Tara Sim – I absolutely love this series and I’m both excited and scared to finally finish it off by reading this one, but I’ve been putting it off for way too long so… it needs to happen.
Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan – This book sounds and looks adorable and I’m ready for some queer adorableness.
The Last 8 by Laura Pohl – I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since I first heard of it because it sounds incredibly intruiging, so I’m very happy it’s finally available on Scribd.
Don’t Date Rosa Santos by Nina Moreno – This is a very last minute add-on to this TBR because I had no idea it was queer until a few minutes ago, but I’ve been wanting to read this one very badly so I’m super happy I might get to in June!

Birthday by Meredith Russo – I really liked Meredith Russo’s writing style in If I Was Your Girl so, while the synopsis of this one doesn’t sound super mega appealing to me, I do want to read it.
The Princess and the Fangirl by Ashley Poston – The first book in this series, Geekerella, was so wonderfully nerdy and, with this one being f/f, I have a feeling it’s going to be even better.
Blanca Y Roja by Anna-Marie McLemore – I love Anna-Marie McLemore’s stories but her flowery writing, while recognizing it’s beauty, just doesn’t really work for me personally. But I’m really hoping it will work for me as an audiobook.
A Prince on Paper by Alyssa Cole – I’ve been loving the Reluctant Royals series so, so much, so I was overjoyed to hear that one of the MC’s in this one is bi and I get to add it to this list because I really want to read it ASAP.

physical.jpg

Edge of the Abyss by Emily Skrutskie – I started this one over a year ago and still haven’t finished it… I feel like this is the perfect opportunity for me to push myself and finally get through this book.
Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee – This book has ace rep and it’s nerdy so that’s a huge YES from me.
Now a Major Motion Picture by Cori McCarthy – This book sounds absolutely delightful and I can’t believe I haven’t picked it up yet.

I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver – This book came in the mail this week and it has taken a lot of self control on my part to not dive into it straight away. I can’t wait.
Running With Lions by Julian Winters – I started this book and got halfway through it right when my Big Slump hit so I hope I can finish this one in June.
The Second Mango by Shira Glassman – I started this one last year? I think? But I put it down because it wasn’t working for me. I really really want to love this but… if I end up not loving this again it’s going on the unhaul pile. But I truly hope that won’t be the case.
Star-Crossed by Barbara Dee – Queer middle grade. That’s all I need to know.

eb

The Story of Lizzy and Darcy by Grace Watson – An f/f Pride and Prejudice retelling? YES.
The Image of Deception by Charlotte Anne Hamilton – I love Charlotte’s writing so, so much and I can’t wait to read this one. It’s going to be amazing.
Cinnamon Blade: Knife in Shining Armor by Shira Glassman – This sounds so nerdy and fun and I can’t wait to read it.


Start Here, a #romanceclass anthology – I generally love #Romanceclass books and I was incredibly excited when I found out they were publishing something queer, so WHY haven’t I read it yet?
Graham’s Delicacies by Em Ali – June will be the month where I will finally read Em Ali’s books and I CAN’T WAIT. Also, this one is centered around a bakery and that’s 100% my thing. Yes.
Hazel’s Theory of Evolution by Lisa Jenn Bigelow – I’ve already read and loved one of this author’s books, so when I heard she was publishing another middle grade (an ACE MIDDLE GRADE) I was sold immediately.


Soft on Soft by Em Ali – Everything about this book sounds amazing and delightful and, of course, very soft. I can’t wait to read it.
Life Within Parole Volume 2 by RoAnna Sylver – I’ve loved both Chameleon Moon and Life Within Parole Volume 1, so I’m super excited to read more about those amazing characters.
Sea Foam and Silence by Lynn E. O’Cannacht – This book has been on my TBR for the longest time and I’m a bit intimidated by it since it’s written in verse and I don’t tend to be very good with that when it’s not in audiobook form, but I really want to try and I really want to love it.

So uhm yes, as you can see, it’s quite a lot, but I’m going to try to get to as many as possible and try to make June as queer as humanly possible. Hope you will all have a super lovely pride month!

Some Thoughts on the Bookish Community and Loneliness

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 gedachtes over “All of the Queer Books I Want to Read for Pride (But Will Realistically Probably Not Get To)

  1. Caitlin @ Caitlin Althea zegt:

    Omg, these are all on my tbr too!! I’m especially excited for I Wish You All the Best because it’s the only book with non-binary rep that’s on my TBR and it has a beautiful cover! I read and loved Geekerella, and I can’t believe that I haven’t picked up The Princess and the Fangirl yet. I’ve been meaning to read an Anna-Marie McLemore book for ages and I plan to do just that in June by reading Blanca y Roja. Also, I had no idea that Don’t Date Rosa Santos was queer?? Wahhh, it looks so cute and I know it has Latinx rep, but it’s also queer? I’m adding it to my June TBR then! I personally haven’t really clicked with flowery writing in the past, but I haven’t really read anything with that kind of writing since, so I really hope that I can click with her writing! Gosh, I just want to read all the queer books in June,, and I feel like I’m setting myself up for failure with all the books I’m adding to my TBR! You have a great list though , and I hope you get through as much of the books on here as possible!

    Like

  2. Marie zegt:

    Ahh what a lovely list of books, Laura, I hope you’ll be able to get to a lot of these books! I’m also hoping to read Anna Marie McLemore’s books and Rosa Santos sometime soon 🙂

    Like

  3. katsyxo zegt:

    Goddess that is a hell of a Pride TBR! I kind of forcibly ignore that Pride is coming because *flails in Ace in a straight-passing relationship* but now suddenly it’s tomorrow and I obviously need to get my act together.
    I Wish You All the Best is obviously the first one I’m reading tho. Let me know if you fancy a buddy read! ❤
    Katie (Katsyxo) @ The Bibliomancer

    Like

  4. Inge zegt:

    This is a very ambitious TBR but I can only agree with you because UGH there are so many good books in this list. You’ll have a great reading month either way!

    Like

  5. Morgan @ The Bookish Beagle zegt:

    So many excellent books on here! I loved Don’t Date Rosa Santos and I’m super excited to see Star-Crossed on your list!! I thought it was so adorable and I don’t see enough readers talking about it. The Princess and the Fangirl and Blanca & Roja are at the top of my TBR as well 🙂 Happy reading!

    Like

Plaats een reactie