June Wrap-Up

IMG_20170626_1350101c347-knipselI’ll try to keep this short because a lot happened in June, so I have a feeling that once I start writing I might start rambling and I’ll write an entire essay, and I don’t think anyone is super interested in that. Anyway, let’s talk about the 2 (or 3) most important things that happened to me in June!

The first thing is my birthday! It was my birthday on the 10th , I turned 20 and, honestly, I don’t have a lot to tell you about. I made a cake, my parents and some lovely Twitter friends got me some books which I might show off in a haul later, and I had some lovely family time.

The second thing is my final exam. I had my history exam about a week ago and it was terrifying but I think I did okay? At least, I’m pretty sure I didn’t fail miserably. I hope. I have my final 2 exams of the year in July and I’m not looking forward to them. At all. Help.

Also, I have some exciting anxiety/agoraphobia progress to share with you all! This month was the first time in 2/3 years that I was 2.5 km away from my home!! This is such a huge deal to me, and I have to admit that I might have cried when I managed to do it…

I’m sorry I kind of turned this into a ramble anyway. I hope you’ve all had a lovely month, and I hope your July will be even better!!

aa00f-diverse

 

Lumberjanes Vol. 1 by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters, Brooke A. Allen  (★★★★/5 stars) – Such a fun graphic novel full of female friendships, mythical creatures and great art.
The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie (★★★★/5 stars) – A pirate story with monsters and an f/f relationship with a lot of focus on consent!!!
The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan (★★★★/5 stars) – First time rereading this in preparation for the second book in this series and I enjoyed it but didn’t love it as much as the first time I read it…
Heaven or This by Topaz Winters  (★★★★★/5 stars) – A gorgeous and magical f/f poetry collection.


The Secrets I Keep by Alex Casso  (★★★★★/5 stars) – SO GOOD??? Amazing poetry collection, Alex is an incredibly talented person and they made me cry multiple times. (tw: abuse)
Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire  (★★★★/5 stars) – A boarding school + portal fantasy + murder + ace character. Loved the characters and the world, and I’m excited to continue the series!
Amina’s Voice by Hena Khan  (★★★★★/5 stars) – An absolutely beautiful middle grade book about a Pakistani-American Muslim girl. Amazing characters, family relationships, and the book is incredibly hopeful.
The Crystal Ribbon by Celeste Lim  (★★★★★/5 stars) – Historical fiction with Chinese folklore, set during the Song Dynasty. A very fun, but also heart wrenching book. Loved it so much, and I wish there were more books like this.


A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi  (★★★★★/5 stars) – I am so in love with this book that I made it’s cover my screensaver. The characters and their banter is amazing, and the world is so incredibly beautiful and magical and I want MORE.
A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir (★★★★/5 stars) – I had a bit of trouble getting into it at first, because I had forgotten almost everything from book one, but I really really enjoyed it in the end!
Lumberjanes Vol. 2 by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis , Shannon Watters,  Maarta Laiho, Brooke A. Allen (★★★★★/5 stars) – This was so amazing and even better than the first volume!! I can’t wait to dive into the rest of the series.

4ab6b-knipsel

I have been reading so many books at the same time lately, but luckily I finished 2 books today so my list isn’t too big here. Anyway, I wasn’t planning on picking up Radio Silence anytime soon but I wanted a not-so-dark audiobook to listen to while making dinner so I settled for this one, and I’m really liking it so far!
I’ve also been buddy reading Like Water with my friend Yasmin and it’s been so much fun! It really adds a lot to the whole reading experience, and I wish I did buddy reads more often. We’re actually planning on finishing this tomorrow!
The last book I’m also reading is Wild Beauty and I’m loving it so far! It’s incredibly queer and the writing is absolutely beautiful. I’m hoping to finish it next week so I can send it off to my friend Lili!

So, that’s it for this month! Now tell me, what was the best book you’ve read in June?

46658-loveTwitter • Instagram •  Goodreads

 

15 gedachtes over “June Wrap-Up

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews zegt:

    I think I said congrats on Twitter about your anxiety/agoraphobia progress, but I’m gonna say it again here so: congrats ♥♥ I know how scary that can be and you should be really proud of yourself 😀 Great reading month too!! I’m so glad you enjoyed Lumberjanes and Every Heart a Doorway.

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

